1502. Fri 24/3/23: Bagels & Beers, Girona

Beer: Estrella Galicia 5.5%

Good bar in Girona shock. Bloody ‘eck.

Rather reminds me of our first visit to a Brewdog pub, in Aberdeen, a decade or so ago… maybe more than that. I thought that place was fantastic. My attitude towards Brewdog has changed markedly since then.

This place had the same half-finished DIY project feel as that did. Lots of dark paint, colourful signage and light wood bench seating. B&B seemed entirely populated by English speaking ex-pats: just like us, but significantly younger. Lots of beards, on the blokes. You know the types.

We play chess. Slowly. I manage to win, which is good. Stephanie beat me in Brno, but I am Catalan Chess King. Hooray for me.

Didn’t see any bagels, but we make good with the beer and – seeing no reason to rush – get nicely soused.

This, then, is the last pub visit in Girona. Easily, we think, the best bar we’ve been to – albeit a bar which seems in no way traditional and aimed specifically at a young and trendy crowd. We skew that demographic for a couple of hours, then back to our digs.

Tomorrow Zaragoza.  

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.