881. Sat 30/11/19: The Castle, Luton

Beer: St Austell Proper Job 4.5%

Had quite a hangover after a (far from) riotous Clod Launch night down the Brickies. A non-football Saturday allowed me to draw it out: getting up relatively early for toasted cheese sandwich and tea… then (letting the hangover win over) sliding back into bed. Given that I’m not required anywhere until the evening, I let that go until the early afternoon: at which time I get up and eventually walk into town and up the hill to work on these write-ups.

It’s dark before I leave the office, back down the hill to meet Steph in Park Street. We’re having a couple in The Castle before the big Knockouts gig at The Black Horse.

The Castle is very quiet to start with. Beer’s fine, mind.

Someone cranks up the volume of the music – it’s very noisy, very Castle, angry young man music. They’re swearing and exclaiming “So WHAT?!” a lot. There’s an audience for this kind of thing, one presumes… but there’s no one in here to make up such a consensus.

Who is in, I find on procuring the second/last pint, is Daisy.

Daisy: original punk rocker, erstwhile Brickies regular and veteran Town fan. Daisy had helpful repopulated the jukebox with old favourites by The Stranglers and The Damned et al. Tonight Daisy, like us, is in the pub en route to The Black Horse.  Off to see The Knockouts. Bless his cotton socks. I apologise in advance.

Daisy’s girlfriend is trying to think of the name of a musical instrument. No, I can’t think of the name either. I return to the table with our beers.

I think on and, in a break between the songs, shout “is it a slide whistle?” towards Daisy at the bar. That’s the one, apparently.

We drink up, say “see you in a bit” and walk up George Street, left up Chapel Street, then Regent Street, heading for the Horse.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.