1467b. Sat 11/2/23: Hamilton Hall, Liverpool St, London

Beer: Salopian Darwin’s Original 4.3%

I’m on my way to Hackney. Various train lines aren’t working. It’s the weekend, so no surprise.

I remember being told about Hamilton Hall, and its rather splendid ceiling, when I was living nearby, and the sense of disappointment when I first visited. The ceiling’s lovely and all, but the pub a bit naff.

It still is, only JDW have hoiked prices up to much the same price as everywhere else (this seems to be a ‘thing’ they do now) and the place is busy with revellers. As I’m getting served, some lout leans over me and barks for a Stella and a whiskey chaser. When I sit down, a youngish, charming woman approaches and politely asks me if the stool opposite me is taken.

There’s quite a contrast between the goggle eyed, slightly smelly and badly dressed blokes, and lasses who (at this stage of the evening), are far more refined, less obnoxious and absolutely charming. The blokes in the pub appear to be on their way back home; the ladies on their way out.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.